Minor Bantam's Capture Barrie Tournament Championship

Posted by North Bay & District Trappers Hockey Association on Oct 28 2019 at 06:22AM PDT in 2021 - 2022

The North Bay & District Hopper Buick/GMC Minor Bantam AAA Trappers came home with gold Sunday at the Barrie AAA Colts Tournament which took place over the weekend in Central Ontario.

The Trappers defeated the Eastern Ontario Wild 4-1 to capture the gold medal Sunday afternoon.

Masen Wray, Heath Bradley, Ayden Thomason and Jesse Lefebvre scored the goals behind the solid goaltending of Justin Robinson.

“We were a little bit more patient, we played a little bit better in our zone,” said head coach Guy Blanchard about his team’s first tournament victory of the year.

“We got some above-average goaltending from both guys and that kind of helped us with our goals against, we played strong defensively. We waited for some breaks, we got them and took advantage of it. That was our game plan the whole weekend.”

The Trappers started the weekend with a clash with the West Dundee Leafs where they defeated the Chicago squad 5-0 Friday morning. Zach Major, Ryan Armitage, Grayson Bradley, Austin Odd and Anthony Boyes scored in the win. Mikey Purkhart collected the shutout.

Friday night, the Trappers battled to a 3-3 tie with the host Barrie Colts squad. Heath Bradley, Caleb Dawson and Austin Odd supplied the offence in the draw.

On Saturday, the Trappers blanked the Cambridge Hawks 3-0 as Purkhart recorded his second shutout of the weekend. Zach Major, Austin Odd and Heath Bradley scored in the win.

Saturday night the Trappers faced the Eastern Ontario Wild, where they fell 2-1. Mathieu Turgeon had the lone goal in the loss.

That set up a Sunday morningclash with the Trappers northern rivals the Nickel City Sons, in the semi-final.

In that game, the Trappers pulled out a 3-1 win with Mathieu Turgeon, Masen Wray and Austin Odd scoring in the semi-final victory.

Team members: Ayden Thomason, Davis Anello, Jacob McGill, Lucas Nashkawa, Zach Major, Grayson Bradley, Nate Gravelle, Jesse Lefebvre, Mathieu Turgeon, Heath Bradley, Anthony Boyes, Masen Wray, Austin Odd, Caleb Dawson, Ryan Armitage (affiliate), Justin Robinson and Mikey Purkhart.
Coaches: Guy Blanchard, Bob Lekun, Troy Lefebvre Trainer: Christian Turgeon. Manager: Denis Major.